Finding Balance Through The Seven Main Chakras


Finding Balance Through The Seven Main Chakras

Life is beautiful..This is one of my favourite sayings that I love to remind myself of. Life can be filled with many beautiful things however when we stumble upon certain difficulties in life we find ourselves being thrown off balance and our mind and vision blurred.

Difficulties are always going to arise in life, with each one we develop a coping strategy. However, when the same difficulty persists, our coping strategies start to become chronic patterns anchored in the body and psyche as a defence. It is important for us to recognise the blocks that we carry. To find and understand the source of the blocks and in turn find a way to heal them.

One of the ways to find balance and harmony in life is to tap into the understanding of the Seven Main Chakras known as energy centres in our body in which our energy flows.

The Chakras are seen as Entry Gates of the Aura. They receive, assimilate and express life force energy. They are seen to contribute towards a persons physical, mental and spiritual functions. Within the physical body is a spiritual body. Our body absorbs and transmits energy frequencies to and from the Universe which in turn determines our interaction with life .

Blocked energy in the Seven Chakras can lead to an unbalance and stop ones energy from flowing freely.

There are many reasons for blocked Chakras such as trauma experienced, bad habits, cultural conditioning or even physical and emotional stress.

Now that we are aware of our spiritual being and what causes unbalance, let us begin to understand our  Seven Main Chakras.

The word Chakra in Sanskrit translates to “wheel” or “disk”. We have eighty eight thousand Chakras that cover the human body. Forty of them have a significant function and are mainly found in the hands, feet, fingertips and shoulders. The most significant are the Seven Main Chakras located along the central line of the body.

The Seven Main Chakras are the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra and the Crown Chakra.

Below is a brief description of each of the Seven Main Chakras, where they are located, what are the affecting emotional issues and ways to healing our Chakras;

The Root Chakra. This is the first Chakra representing our foundation. It focuses on the feeling of being grounded and secure.

It is located by the base of the spine in the Tail bone area.

The colour red represents the Root Chakra.

Emotional issues such as survival needs and money affect our Root Chakra.

The Sacral Chakra is our second Chakra. It is linked to our ability to be creative, sexual and accept change.

It is located by our lower abdomen and is two inches below the navel and two inches in.

The colour orange is linked to the Sacral Chakra.

Emotional issues regarding our well being, pleasure, sexuality and sense of abundance affect the Sacral Chakra.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is the third Chakra. It represents ones ability to be confident and in the feeling in control of life.

This Chakra is located in the upper abdomen.

Yellow represents the Solar Plexus Chakra.

Self-worth, confidence and self esteem affect our Solar Plexus Chakra.

The Heart Chakra which is our fourth Chakra. It is the quality of our love, past loves and future loves.

It is located in the center of the chest above the heart.

The colour for this Chakra is green.

Love, joy and inner peace are essential elements in the fourth Chakra.

The Throat Chakra. This Chakra represents the ability to communicate express. It is known as the fifth Chakra.

It’s location is obviously the throat and the colour blue represents the Throat Chakra.

Any communication and expression issues may affect this Chakra.

The sixth Chakra which is the Third Eye Chakra. Is focused on ones ability to focus and seethe bigger picture.

It is located between the eyes on the forehead and the colour indigo represents our Third Eye Chakra.

Emotional issues affecting the Third Eye are lack of being in touch with ones intuition, creativity and ability to think and make decisions.

Our seventh Chakra is the Crown Chakra. It is the highest Chakra which allows us to feel fully connected to our spirituality.

It is located on the very top of ones head, carrying the colour of violet.

Our inner and outer beauty reflects our Crown Chakra. It shows our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.


There are many various ways in which we can heal each Chakra individually. Many styles of yoga and different poses balance certain Chakras. Meditation also allows one to connect on a more spiritual level and access the Chakras energy.

Each Chakra is represented by a colour. To heal or balance a certain Chakra we can also focus on eating food of that colour or wearing that colour, for example, if you finding you do not have enough inner peace at the moment try wearing a green scarf or shirt to resonate the energy of the Heart Chakra and remind you to find inner peace.

To balance our Chakras we must try to balance every aspect of our lives from exercise to diet and even the way we communicate and think. Consciousness may also help to identify when things are unblanaced and wrong and can prevent a person from blocking certain energies in their life.

I hope you have enjoyed this journey of our Seven Main Chakras. If you have any thing else you would like to share or comment on please do not hesitate.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s